Board of Directors

Craig Jones, Board Chair
Retired Chief Investment Officer, Cousins Properties
 
Kim Anderson
Chief Executive Officer, Families First
 
Joe Arnold, Finance Committee Chair
Senior Vice President and Manager,
Not-For-Profit and Government Banking Division,
SunTrust Atlanta
 
Tom Avery, Development Committee Chair
Retired Managing Director,
Raymond James & Associates
 
BJ Bernstein
Attorney, The Bernstein Firm

Jim Bostic
Managing Director, HEP & Associates
 
Kathe Brown*
Community Volunteer
 
Mark Buffington
Co-Founder and Managing Partner,
Buckhead Investment Partners
 
Ned Case
Managing Director and Chief Operating Officer,
GMT Capital Corp
 
Sidney Childress, Advocacy Committee Chair
Community Volunteer
 
Rick Deane, Committee on Directors Chair
Partner-in-Charge, Jones Day Atlanta
 
Charlotte Dixon*
Community Volunteer
 
Torarie Durden
Director of Strategic Development, Healthgrades
 

*Denotes Honorary Director
 
Sid Harris
Professor and Dean Emeritus,
J. Mack Robinson College of Business,
Georgia State University
 
Tharon Johnson
Managing Director, McKenna Long & Aldridge
 
Dennis Love
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer,
Printpack, Inc.
 
Marni Mohr*
Community Volunteer
 
Tom Pritchard
President, E2 Capital Group
 
Jack Ward
Retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer,
Russell Corporation
 
Mark Wesley
President, Recall North America
 
Alan Wise
Partner and Managing Director,
The Boston Consulting Group

 

2015-16 Full Board Meeting Dates

  • Friday, September 18, 2015, from 8 a.m. -12 p.m. at KIPP South Fulton Academy - AgendaMinutes
  • Thursday, November 12, 2015, from 8 a.m. - 12 p.m. at KIPP STRIVE Campus - AgendaMinutes
  • Friday, January 29, 2016, from 8 a.m. - 2 p.m. at Buckhead Investment Partners (Annual Strategic Planning Meeting) - AgendaMinutes
  • Thursday, April 21, 2016, from 8 a.m. - 12 p.m. at KIPP Atlanta Collegiate - Agenda
  • Friday, June 24, 2016, from 8 a.m. - 12 p.m. at KIPP WAYS Campus

 

2015-16 Committee Meeting Dates

Committee on Directors' Meeting Dates

Time: 5 - 7 p.m.
Location: SunTrust Bank (1155 Peachtree Street, Suite 900 | Atlanta, GA 30309)

  • Thursday, August 20, 2015
  • Thursday, February 11, 2016
  • Thursday, May 5, 2016

Development Committee Meeting Dates

Time: 8-10 a.m.
Location: KIPP Metro Atlanta Schools' Regional Office (350 Temple Street NW | Atlanta, GA 30314)

  • Wednesday, September 9, 2015
  • Tuesday, November 3, 2015
  • Thursday, January 21, 2016
  • Thursday, April 14, 2016
  • Thursday, June 16, 2016

Finance Committee Meeting Dates

Time: 8 - 10 a.m.
Location: KIPP Metro Atlanta Schools' Regional Office (350 Temple Street NW | Atlanta, GA 30314)

  • Wednesday, September 16, 2015
  • Wednesday, October 28, 2015
  • Wednesday, January 20, 2016
  • Wednesday, April 6, 2016
  • Wednesday, May 25, 2016
  • Wednesday, June 8, 2016

Endowment Committee Meeting Dates

Time: 4 - 6 p.m.
Location: KIPP Metro Atlanta Schools' Regional Office (350 Temple Street NW | Atlanta, GA 30314)

  • Monday, July 27, 2015
  • Monday, October 26, 2015
  • Monday, January 25, 2016
  • Monday, April 25, 2016

Advocacy Committee Meeting Dates

Time: 4 - 6 p.m.
Location: KIPP Metro Atlanta Schools' Regional Office (350 Temple Street NW | Atlanta, GA 30314)

  • Monday, September 14, 2015
  • Monday, November 2, 2015
  • Monday, December 7, 2015
  • Monday, February 22, 2016
  • Monday, May 23, 2016  

 

Board Meeting Participation Policy

All KIPP Metro Atlanta Schools' board meetings are open to the public.

Time is set aside at each regularly scheduled quarterly meeting to provide stakeholders the opportunity to address the Board. The public comment period is designed to gain input from the public and not for immediate responses by the Board to the public comments presented.

Individuals who wish to address issues related to an individual school should communicate directly with the school’s advisory board using that school’s advisory board communication protocols or by following the established grievance process outlined in the student/parent handbook (if applicable).  Individuals who wish to address the regional governing board about a more global concern at a Board meeting will be required to sign up in advance of the meeting by calling the Executive Director’s office at least 24 hours in advance.

  • Speakers should be courteous and professional. The presiding Board officer may terminate public comments that are profane, vulgar, or defamatory.
  • Speakers will be heard in the order in which they called in.
  • Speakers have three minutes each and must stop speaking promptly when signaled.
  • The board reserves the right to cap the public comment period to the first seven parents who sign up.
  • Speakers may not address confidential student or personnel matters, but may submit such concerns to the Board in writing.
  • Board members will not respond to the comments during the meeting.  If follow-up is necessary, the appropriate staff or a representative of the Board will follow-up in a timely manner via email, letter, or telephone.