KIPP Metro Atlanta Schools Board of Directors

Craig Jones, Chair
Retired Chief Investment Officer, Cousins Properties
 
Kim Anderson
Chief Executive Officer, Families First
 
Joe Arnold
Senior Vice President and Manager, Not-For-Profit and Government Banking Division, SunTrust Atlanta
 
Tom Avery
Managing Director, Raymond James & Associates
 
BJ Bernstein
Attorney and Owner, The Bernstein Firm, P.C.

Jim Bostic
Managing Director, HEP & Associates
 
Kathe Brown*
Community Volunteer
 
Ned Case
Managing Director and Chief Operating Officer, GMT Capital Corp
 
Sidney Childress
Community Volunteer
 
Rick Deane
Partner-in-Charge, Jones Day Atlanta
 
Charlotte Dixon*
Community Volunteer
 
Torarie Durden,
Director of Strategic Development, Healthgrades
 

*Denotes Honorary Director
 
Sid Harris
Professor and Former Dean, Georgia State University’s J. Mack Robinson’s College of Business
 
Tharon Johnson
Managing Director, McKenna Long & Aldridge, LLP
 
Dennis Love
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Printpack, Inc.
 
Marni Mohr*
Community Volunteer
 
Gairy Moore
Partner, Deloitte
 
Avery Munnings
Partner, Deloitte
 
Tom Pritchard,
President, E2 Capital Group LLC
 
Mark Wesley
President, Recall North America
 
Jack Ward
Retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Russell Corporation
 
Alan Wise
Partner and Managing Director, The Boston Consulting Group

Board Meeting Dates

Friday, January 18, 2013 from 8:00 am until 11:00 am at KIPP South Fulton Academy. Click here for agenda. Click here for the minutes.

Friday, April 26, 2013, from 8:00 am until 11:00 am at KIPP Vision Academy. Click here for agenda. Click here for the minutes.

Friday, June 28, 2013 from 8:00 am until 11:00 am at KIPP WAYS Academy. Click here for agenda. Click here for KIPP Metro Atlanta Opportunity Fund board agenda.  Click here for the minutes. 

Friday, September 27, 2013 from 8:00 am until 1:00 pm at KIPP STRIVE Academy. Click here for agenda. Click here for the minutes.

Friday, November 22, 2013 from 8:00 am until 2:00 pm at Callanwolde Fine Arts Center.  Click here for agenda. Click here for the minutes.

Friday, January 24, 2014 from 8:00 am until 11:00 am at KIPP Atlanta Collegiate.  Click here for the agenda. Click here for the minutes.

Friday, April 25, 2014 from 8:00 am until 11:00 am at KIPP STRIVE Primary.  Click here for the agenda. Click here for the minutes.  

Friday, June 27, 2014 from 8:00 am until 11:00 am at KIPP Vision Academy. Click here for the agenda.  Click here for FY 15 Budget. 

Committee Meetings

Development Committee, Thursday, April 17, 2014 from 8:00 am until 10:00 am at KIPP WAYS Academy.  Click here for the agenda. 

Development Committee, Thursday, June 26, 2014 from 8:00 am until 10:00 am at KIPP WAYS Academy.  Click here for agenda. 

Finance Committee, Wednesday, April 23, 2014 from 8:00 am until 10:00 am at KIPP WAYS Academy.  Click here for the agenda.

Finance Committee, Wednesday, May 21, 2014 from 8:00 am until 10:00 am at KIPP WAYS Academy.  Click here for the agenda.

Finance Committee, Wednesday, June 25, 2014 from 8:00 am until 10:00 am at KIPP WAYS Academy. Click here for the agenda.

Executive Committee, Wednesday, July 2, 2014 from 10:30 am until 12:00 pm at Raymond James and Associates.  Click here for the agenda.  Click here for minutes.

 

 

 

2014-15 Board Meetings

Full Board Meetings
8:00 – 11:00 am.
Locations Rotate Between Schools

Monday, July 7, 2014 at 4:00 pm at SunTrust.  Click here for the agenda. 

Friday, September 26, 2014 at KIPP STRIVE Campus

Friday, November 21, 2014 (Strategic Meeting) location TBD

Friday, January 30, 2015 at KIPP Vision Campus

Friday, May 1, 2015 at KIPP South Fulton Academy

Friday, June 26, 2015 at KIPP WAYS Campus

2014-15 Committee Meetings

Committee on Directors Meetings
5:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.

SunTrust Bank
1155 Peachtree Street, Suite 900 | Atlanta, GA 30309

Tuesday, August 5, 2014

Thursday, February 5, 2015

Thursday, May 7, 2015

Development Committee Meetings
8:00 – 10:00 a.m.
KIPP Metro Atlanta Regional Office
350 Temple St, NW | Atlanta, GA 30314

Thursday, September 18, 2014

Thursday, November 6, 2014

Thursday, January 22, 2015

Thursday, April 16, 2015

Thursday, June 18, 2015

Advocacy Committee Meetings
4:00 – 6:00 p.m.

Families First
1105 West Peachtree Street | Atlanta, GA 30309

Dates TBD

Finance Committee Meetings
8:00 – 10:00 a.m.
KIPP Metro Atlanta Regional Office
350 Temple St, NW | Atlanta, GA 30314

Friday, September 19, 2014

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Wednesday, April 22, 2015

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Wednesday, June 24, 2015

 

Board Meeting Participation Policy

All KIPP Metro Atlanta Board meetings are open to the public.  Meeting dates and times are available on the organization’s website. 

 

Time is set aside at each of its regularly-scheduled quarterly meetings to provide stakeholders the opportunity to address the Board. The public comment period is designed to gain input from the public and not for immediate responses by the Board to the public comments presented.

 

Individuals who wish to address issues related to an individual school should communicate directly with the school’s advisory board using that school’s advisory board communication protocols or by following the established grievance process outlined in the student/parent handbook (if applicable).  Individuals who wish to address the regional governing board about a more global concern at a Board meeting will be required to sign up in advance of the meeting by calling the executive director’s office at least 24 hours in advance. 

  • Speakers should be courteous and professional. The presiding Board officer may terminate public comments that are profane, vulgar or defamatory.
  • Speakers will be heard in the order in which they called in.
  • Speakers have three minutes each and must stop speaking promptly when signaled.
  • The board reserves the right to cap the public comment period to the first 7 parents who sign up.
  • Speakers may not address confidential student or personnel matters, but may submit such concerns to the Board in writing.
  • Board members will not respond to the comments during the meeting.  If follow-up is necessary, the appropriate staff or a representative of the Board will follow-up in a timely manner via email, letter, or telephone.