KIPP Metro Atlanta Schools' Board of Directors

Craig Jones, Chair
Retired Chief Investment Officer, Cousins Properties
 
Kim Anderson
Chief Executive Officer, Families First
 
Joe Arnold
Senior Vice President and Manager, Not-For-Profit and Government Banking Division, SunTrust Atlanta
 
Tom Avery
Managing Director, Raymond James & Associates
 
BJ Bernstein
Attorney and Owner, The Bernstein Firm, P.C.

Jim Bostic
Managing Director, HEP & Associates
 
Kathe Brown*
Community Volunteer
 
Ned Case
Managing Director and Chief Operating Officer, GMT Capital Corp
 
Sidney Childress
Community Volunteer
 
Rick Deane
Partner-in-Charge, Jones Day Atlanta
 
Charlotte Dixon*
Community Volunteer
 
Torarie Durden,
Director of Strategic Development, Healthgrades
 

*Denotes Honorary Director
 
Sid Harris
Professor and Former Dean, Georgia State University’s J. Mack Robinson’s College of Business
 
Tharon Johnson
Managing Director, McKenna Long & Aldridge, LLP
 
Dennis Love
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Printpack, Inc.
 
Marni Mohr*
Community Volunteer
 
Gairy Moore
Partner, Deloitte
 
Avery Munnings
Partner, Deloitte
 
Tom Pritchard,
President, E2 Capital Group LLC
:
Mark Wesley
President, Recall North America
 
Jack Ward
Retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Russell Corporation
 
Alan Wise
Partner and Managing Director, The Boston Consulting Group

2014-15 Full Board Meeting Dates

Friday, September 26, 2014 from 8-11 a.m. at KIPP STRIVE Campus: Agenda

Friday, November 21, 2014 from 8 a.m. - 2 p.m. (Strategic Meeting) location TBD

Friday, January 30, 2015 from 8 a.m. - 2 p.m. at KIPP Vision Campus

Friday, May 1, 2015 from 8-11 a.m. at KIPP South Fulton Academy

Friday, June 26, 2015 from 8-11 a.m. at KIPP WAYS Campus

 

2014-15 Committee Meeting Dates

Committee on Directors' Meetings
Time: 5-7 p.m.
Location: SunTrust Bank (1155 Peachtree Street, Suite 900 | Atlanta, GA 30309)

  • Tuesday, August 5, 2014: Agenda | Minutes
  • Thursday, February 5, 2015
  • Thursday, May 7, 2015

Development Committee Meetings
Time: 8-10 a.m.
Location: KIPP Metro Atlanta Schools' Regional Office (350 Temple Street NW | Atlanta, GA 30314)

  • Thursday, September 18, 2014: Agenda
  • Thursday, November 6, 2014
  • Thursday, January 22, 2015
  • Thursday, April 16, 2015
  • Thursday, June 18, 2015

Finance Committee Meetings
Time: 8-10 a.m.
Location: KIPP Metro Atlanta Schools' Regional Office (350 Temple Street NW | Atlanta, GA 30314)

  • Friday, September 19, 2014: Agenda
  • Wednesday, October 15, 2014
  • Wednesday, January 28, 2015
  • Wednesday, April 22, 2015
  • Wednesday, May 20, 2015
  • Wednesday, June 24, 2015

Advocacy Committee Meetings

Time: 4-6 p.m.
Location: Families First (1105 West Peachtree Street | Atlanta, GA 30309)

Dates TBD

 

2013-14 Board Meeting Materials

Friday, January 18, 2013 from 8-11 a.m. at KIPP South Fulton Academy: Agenda |  Minutes

Friday, April 26, 2013, from 8-11 a.m. at KIPP Vision Academy: Agenda | Minutes

Friday, June 28, 2013 from 8-11 a.m. at KIPP WAYS Academy: Agenda | Minutes

Friday, September 27, 2013 from 8 a.m. - 1 p.m. at KIPP STRIVE Academy: Agenda | Minutes

Friday, November 22, 2013 from 8 a.m. - 2 p.m. at Callanwolde Fine Arts Center: Agenda | Minutes

Friday, January 24, 2014 from 8-11 a.m. at KIPP Atlanta Collegiate: Agenda | Minutes

Friday, April 25, 2014 from 8-11 a.m. at KIPP STRIVE Primary:  Agenda | Minutes  

Friday, June 27, 2014 from 8-11 a.m. at KIPP Vision Academy: Agenda | FY15 Budget

 

2013-14 Committee Meeting Materials

Development Committee

  • Thursday, April 17, 2014 from 8-10 a.m. at KIPP WAYS Academy: Agenda 
  • Thursday, June 26, 2014 from 8-10 a.m. at KIPP WAYS Academy: Agenda 

Finance Committee

  • Wednesday, April 23, 2014 from 8-10 a.m. at KIPP WAYS Academy: Agenda
  • Wednesday, May 21, 2014 from 8-10 a.m. at KIPP WAYS Academy: Agenda
  • Wednesday, June 25, 2014 from 8-10 a.m. at KIPP WAYS Academy: Agenda

 

Board Meeting Participation Policy

All KIPP Metro Atlanta Schools' Board meetings are open to the public.

Time is set aside at each regularly scheduled quarterly meeting to provide stakeholders the opportunity to address the Board. The public comment period is designed to gain input from the public and not for immediate responses by the Board to the public comments presented.

Individuals who wish to address issues related to an individual school should communicate directly with the school’s advisory board using that school’s advisory board communication protocols or by following the established grievance process outlined in the student/parent handbook (if applicable).  Individuals who wish to address the regional governing board about a more global concern at a Board meeting will be required to sign up in advance of the meeting by calling the Executive Director’s office at least 24 hours in advance.

  • Speakers should be courteous and professional. The presiding Board officer may terminate public comments that are profane, vulgar, or defamatory.
  • Speakers will be heard in the order in which they called in.
  • Speakers have three minutes each and must stop speaking promptly when signaled.
  • The board reserves the right to cap the public comment period to the first seven parents who sign up.
  • Speakers may not address confidential student or personnel matters, but may submit such concerns to the Board in writing.
  • Board members will not respond to the comments during the meeting.  If follow-up is necessary, the appropriate staff or a representative of the Board will follow-up in a timely manner via email, letter, or telephone.